Various | J Jazz Vol. 4: Deep Modern Jazz from Japan - Nippon Columbia 1968 -1981


j jazz vol. 4: deep modern jazz from japan - nippon columbia 1968 -1981


Takeo Moriyama - Exchange

Jiro Inagaki & His Soul Media - The Ground For Peace

Nobuo Hara & His Sharps & Flats, Hozan Yamamoto - Chakkiri-Bushi

Tomoki Takahashi - Trial Road

Masahiko Sato - A Muddy Muffin

Takashi Mizuhashi & Herbie Hancock - Samba De Negrito

Hiromasa Suzuki - Scramble

Nobuo Hara & His Sharps & Flats - Prelude To The Afternoon Of A Faun

Shigeharu Mukai - Toppu

Toshiyuki Miyama & His New Herd - Ogi Denju-shiki

Kiyoshi Sugimoto - Jones Street

Mikio Masuda - Micky's Samba

Hiromasa Suzuki, Jiro Inagaki & His Big Soul Media - By The Red Stream

Mickie Yoshino & Kazumi Watanabe - Kaleidoscope (edit)

J Jazz volume 4 - digging out the famed Nippon Columbia label, one of the biggest labels in Japan, whose jazz output embraces every possible style imaginable. Focussing on the key years 1968-1981 sees compilers Tony Higgins and Mike Peden dig even deeper into their record collections and pull-out tracks that span styles ranging from solo to big band, jazz classical interpretations and heavy jazz rock, to febrile post-bop, white hot samba fusion, and modal psychedelic wig-outs. Features icons such as drum master Takeo Moriyama, keyboard magi Hiromasa Suzuki, Fumio Itabashi, and Masahiko Satoh, and guitar wizards Kazumi Watanabe and Kiyoshi Sugimoto, alongside big band maestros and innovators Nobuo Hara and his Sharps and Flats, and Toshiyuki Miyama’s New Herd.